FOLLOW US  Click to go to Facebook.  Click to go to Twitter.  Click to go to YouTube.   TEXT SIZE Click to make text small. Click for medium-sized text. Click to make text large.  

Who We Are


The Subcommittee on Aid to the Church in Central and Eastern Europe is composed of eight bishops. Each year, the subcommittee reviews and evaluates grant applications and makes funding decisions with the assistance of its staff.

Subcommittee Members


  • Bishop Jeffrey M. Monforton, Diocese of Steubenville


  • Cardinal Blase J. Cupich, Archdiocese of Chicago
  • Bishop John M. Botean, Romanian Greek Catholic Eparchy of St. George in Canton
  • Bishop Robert Fisher, Auxiliary Bishop of Archdiocese of Detroit
  • Metropolitan-Archbishop Borys Gudziak, Ukrainian Archeparchy of Philadelphia
  • Bishop Donald J. Hying, Diocese of Madison
  • Bishop Edward C. Malesic, Diocese of Greensburg
  • Bishop Witold Mrozieweski, Auxiliary Bishop of Diocese of Brooklyn
  • Bishop Gerald L. Vincke, Diocese of Salina


  • Archbishop Gregory J. Hartmayer, OFM Conv, Archdiocese of Atlanta
  • Bishop Patrick J. Zurek, Diocese of Amarillo
  • Mr. Patrick Markey, Executive Director, Diocesan Financial Management Conference

National Staff

The national staff manages day-to-day operations, including allocations, education, and promotion.

Tetiana Stawnychy, Director
(202) 541-3401 

Andrew Kirkpatrick, Grants Specialist
(202) 541-3402

Elena Baydina, Grants Administrator
(202) 541-3238

Fax: 202-541-3460

By accepting this message, you will be leaving the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. This link is provided solely for the user's convenience. By providing this link, the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops assumes no responsibility for, nor does it necessarily endorse, the website, its content, or sponsoring organizations.

cancel  continue